top of page
Search
  • kglevi1

Blog Post 4

  • Jot down a short description of what appeals to you about this story. Is it the cover? The title? The character? From what you can tell do you and the character have overlapping stories/characteristics, or completely different?

The memoir I have chosen to read is: The Little Monster: Growing up with ADHD. This story immediately appealed to me since I have been diagnosed with ADHD. I am extremely interested in psychology, as I plan to get my masters in Educational Psychology shorty after graduating. The book has not arrived yet, but the cover from amazon looked very interesting. It had had very dark colors, like red and black. I really liked this because I sometimes feel like ADHD is "normalized" or "glamorized" in our society; but in reality, it's a very crippling and challenging mental illness. I'm super interested to see if the character and I have similar stories and experiences. I have done a lot of research on mental illnesses, but nothing is more telling than listening to real stories. I'm interested to see how he performed in school as a child, since most children with ADHD struggle in the classroom. I am also interested to see how his family and teachers handled his diagnosis. Was he medicated from a young age? Were parents and teachers supportive of him? Did he go to therapy? Was he bullied or out casted because of his illness. I am super excited to read this story. I think I will be able to relate to it, which makes reading a lot more exciting and fun, in my opinion.


11 views1 comment

1 Comment


Hayley Bowman
Hayley Bowman
Sep 07, 2021

While I didn't pick this book, I was also super interested in reading it! I haven't been diagnosed with ADHD yet, but I exhibit a lot of the symptoms and am looking into it. I can totally understand what you mean about feeling like ADHD has been glamorized. Although I'm not sure if I have it officially or not, the symptoms I do have are awful, and I've heard bad stories from others who are diagnosed. As a future educator, I'd like to learn more about how to deal with things like this in the classroom. I have so many questions about things involving this, like do some kids need to be medicated, or do we need to be more…

Like
bottom of page